The Best House 2011

presentation of the prize-winners

Thu 05.05.2011 – Mon 23.05.2011
The exhibition

The exhibition: The Best House 2011
© Architekturzentrum Wien, photograph: Pez Hejduk

Wed 04.05.2011, 7pm: award ceremony

This year the architecture prize for The Best House is being awarded for the fourth time, by the s Bausparkasse in collaboration with the Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture and the Architekturzentrum Wien. Together with the regional architecture institutions in Austria, the best house in each of the federal provinces has been selected for a prize from the total of 128 submissions.
The finalists portray an impressive array of different types of buildings under the most varied of topographical conditions and with the application of an interesting range of materials. Following the three previous prizes for The Best House there is a certain development in the ideology of private dwellings to be noticed. A tendency to increase the densification of existing structures is gaining value while increased environmentally friendly aspects regarding building materials and energy supply are combined with holistic design solutions. New concepts that engage with communal estate projects are also on the increase.

The exhibition presents the nine winning projects as well as a series of further nominations and competition submissions, and is to subsequently go on tour throughout Austria.

Admission free!

Requests for images in print quality, directly to press@azw.at

Burgenland: Umbau Dreikanthof
Burgenland: conversion Dreikanthof, architects: Michael Homann & WG3
© Karin Lernbeiß
Kärnten: Haus SUS, Architekt: Ogris + Wanek Architekten
Carinthia: House SUS, architects: Ogris + Wanek Architekten
© Mario Huber
Lower Austria: Niederösterreich: Villa Martinstraße, Architekt: Hertl.Architekten ZT GmbH
Lower Austria: Villa Martinstraße, architect: Hertl.Architekten ZT GmbH
© Kurt Hörbst
Oberösterreich: Haus S, Architekt: kienesberger schröckenfuchs architektur
Upper Austria: House S, architect: kienesberger schröckenfuchs architektur
© Andrew Phelps
Salzburg: Kobe Haus
Salzburg: Kobe Haus, architect: LP architektur ZT GmbH
© Volker Wortmeyer
Styria: House F
Styria: House F, architect: Gerhard Mitterberger
© Zita Oberwalder
Tyrol: House SF1
Tyrol: House SF1, architect: Fügenschuh Hrdlovics Architekten
© David Schreyer
House Strauss
Vorarlberg: House Strauss, architect: bernardo bader architekten
© Adolf Bereuter
Haus Mexico
Vienna: House Mexico, architects: pichler.architekt[en]
© pichler.architekt[en]