2nd Otto Wagner Urban Architecture Award

Award ceremony and exhibition

Mon 02.11.1998 – Fri 27.11.1998
Exhibition poster

Exhibition poster: 2. Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis
© Architekturzentrum Wien, photograph: Ellert, graphic design: Kanzlei

The Architekturzentrum Wien and the Austrian Savings Bank are organising the “Otto Wagner prize for Urban Planning” for the second time. It is intended to promote and support urban planning as a discipline not only creating the form but the framework of social life. It is not the individual building that is going to characterise the future of our society but extensive community-building plans for town and country.

The criterion for the award is the offensive and fundamentally new discussion on urban development of a modern industrial society: the problem of living and working with regard to increasing traffic and the feasibility of immaterial communication; the problem of town and the surrounding countryside with the intention of concentration and the need for space and landscape. As Otto Wagner would have wished the jury consists of the City Councillor of Vienna responsible for urban planning (or of his representative), the winners of the previous “Otto Wagner prize for Urban Planning” and, representing the organisers, of the Director General of the Austrian Postal Savings Bank and the Director of the Architekturzentrum Wien.

Sir Norman Foster, an important and outstanding international representative of the debate on architecture and urban planning agreed to chair the jury at the 2. Otto Wagner prize for Urban Planning. In a unique way establishing an office for architecture, design and urban planning acting world-wide, being amongst the largest architectural companies of the world, he always was able to express high architectural standard. Sir Norman Foster is going to present his personal view on architecture and urban planning in a lecture given at the banking hall of the Austrian Postal Savings Bank.

Monday, November 02, 1998, 7:00 p.m.
Main hall of the “Österreichische Postsparkasse”
Georg Cochplatz, 2
A – 10101 Vienna

Dietmar Steiner, Director “Architekturzentrum Wien”

On behalf of the jury:
Heinz Neumann, Vienna

Dr. Max Kothbauer, Managing Director, Österreichische Postsparkasse, Vienna
Vice-mayor Dr. Bernhard Görg, Vienna city councilor for urban planning

You can get a virtual tour through Otto Wagner’s remarkable building